Katja Thater first woman champion

 |   |  0 Kommentare |  Kommentieren |  551 mal angesehen
The 2007 World Series of Poker has seen its first (aside from the Ladies Event) female bracelet winner. Germany's Katja Thater defeated tough opponents like Men "The Master" Nguyen to win Event 29, $1,500 Seven-Card Razz.

Poker Stars team member Katja Thater came into the final table in fourth place but picked up the pace right away. She eliminated Thomas Daubert and Men "The Master" Nguyen early on, and took command of the WSOP tournament.

Katja Thater knocked out Paul Clark and O'Neil Longson as well, and finally she faced Larry St. Jean in the heads-up match for the title. It took Thater about half-an-hour to finish her last opponent off. In the final hand, she made a 2-3-4-5-8 to beat Larry St. Jean's 2-4-5-7-8.

The victory in Event 29 was Katja Thater's third cash in the 2007 WSOP, and aside from the precious golden bracelet she gets $132,653 in prize money. Earlier in the series, Thater finished 62 in a $1,500 Pot-Limit Hold'em event, and fifth in the Ladies Event.

Phil Hellmuth has also cashed three times in the 2007 WSOP, but he didn't manage to win bracelet number twelve in Event 28, $3,000 No-Limit Hold'em. He did, however, tie T.J. Cloutier's record of 39 final table appearances in WSOP by making it to sixth place, earning $76,464.

Shankar Pillai won the tournament ahead of Beth Shak and Jason Song. Pillai gets a golden bracelet and $527,629 in prize money for his efforts.

Otherwise, the final table was set in Event 30, $2,500 No-Limit Hold'em/Six Handed. Hoyt Corkins tops the filed with $1.3 million in chips ahead of Alan Sass and William Lin.

The exciting $5,000 World Championship Heads-Up No-Limit Hold'em got underway with several interesting match-up already in the first and second rounds.

In the Live Tournaments Section you can read all about these events, including the hot heads-up clashes between the stars. You will also find exclusive interviews, photos, and blogs containing in-depth analysis and amusing anecdotes from the 2007 WSOP.


Gute Wettanbieter

Betway Wettanbieter Betsafe Wettanbieter Tipico Wettanbieter Sportingbet Wettanbieter